Chinese President Xi Jinping applauds after his speech as he and other Politburo Standing Committee members meet with the press at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing on October 25, 2017. Photo: Reuters / Jason Lee

The 204-member 19th Central Committee of the Communist Party of China (CPC) elected 25 Politburo members, more than half of whom are said to be General Secretary Xi Jinping’s former associates and classmates, at its first plenary session on Wednesday.

Xi now controls a majority of the votes in the Politburo’s seven-member Standing Committee, in which only Shanghai party secretary Han Zheng is considered a “Shanghai faction” member representing former CPC general secretary Jiang Zemin.

Two of Xi’s most trusted men – Li Zhanshu and Zhao Leji – will chair the National People’s Congress and the party’s Central Commission for Discipline Inspection respectively.

Excluding the seven Standing Committee members, 10 of the remaining 18 Politburo members are said to have worked or studied together with Xi.

They are (in alphabetical order):

Cai Qi, 61, party secretary in Beijing

Chen Min’er, 57, party secretary of Chongqing

Chen Xi, 64, executive deputy director of the party’s Organization Department

Ding Xuexiang, 55, deputy director of the General Office of the CPC and director of the party’s General Secretary Office

Huang Kunming, 60, executive deputy director of the Publicity Department of the CPC

Li Qiang, 58, party secretary in Jiangsu province

Li Xi, 61, party secretary in Liaoning province

Liu He, 65, deputy party secretary of the National Development and Reform Commission and director of the General Office serving the  Leading Group for Financial and Economic Affairs

Wang Chen, 66, deputy director of the Publicity Department of the CPC

Zhang Youxia, 67, vice-chairman of the Central Military Commission of the CPC

Three Politburo members renewed their terms for another five years. They are:

Hu Chunhua, 64, party secretary of Guangdong province

Sun Chunlan, 67, head of the United Front Work Department of the CPC

Xu Qiliang, 67, vice-chairman of the Central Military Commission of the CPC

The other five new Politburo members are:

Chen Quanguo, 61, party secretary of the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region

Guo Shengkun, 63, minister of public security of the People’s Republic of China

Li Hongzhong, 61, party secretary of Tianjin

Yang Jiechi, 67, former foreign minister

Yang Xiaodu, 64, deputy chief of the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection

Chen Quanguo and Li Hongzhong have been praised by media reports as the “future stars” of the CPC.

Read: Seven standing politburo members unveiled, same as expected

Asia Times Financial is now live. Linking accurate news, insightful analysis and local knowledge with the ATF China Bond 50 Index, the world's first benchmark cross sector Chinese Bond Indices. Read ATF now. 

3 replies on “Xi’s former associates, classmates dominate Politburo”

Comments are closed.