The world number one team of Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis continued its dominating run by winning their sixth title of the year at the Guangzhou Open Sunday, PTI reports.

Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza

The top seeds hammered Xu Shilin and You Xiaodi 6-3, 6-1 in the final to win their second WTA title in a row. Such has been their domination that they have not dropped a set en route to the title.

It was Sania’s seventh title of the 2015 season and sixth with Hingis. She won one trophy with Bethanie-Mattek Sands in Sydney.

Sania and Hinghis have now won six of 13 events they have played since joining forces in March — Indian Wells, Miami, Charleston, Wimbledon, the US Open and now Guangzhou. They have an incredible 42-7 win-loss record together.

After a first round bye, they beat Anna-Lena Friedsam and Monica Niculescu in the quarters, 6-2 6-3, and then Julia Glushko and Rebecca Peterson in the semis 6-3 6-4.

They next go to Wuhan, where again they are top seeds.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.